January 2016 Special Meeting Minutes

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

January 29, 2016

The Northark Board of Trustees met in special session Thursday, January 29, 2016, in the Bennie Ellis Board Room. Chair Scott Miller called the meeting to order at 1 p.m. Trustees Kirk Campbell, David Evans, Bill Lovell, Matt Miller, Dr. Marcus Jones, Sara Jo Fendley and Jane Adair were present. Trustee Jim Milum was absent.

Northark personnel attending included Don Sugg, Dr. Michael Wiggins, Dr. Rodney Arnold, Jamie Stevens, Micki Somers, Nell Bonds, Cindy Mayo, David Zirkle, Sarah Bing, Kristin Griffin, Wesley Crow, Tavonda Brown, Kris Greening, Sharla Hellen, Charla Jennings, Jennifer Haddock, Chad Johnson, and Trish Villines. Lee Dunlap and James White represented the Harrison Daily Times.

Approval of Agenda

Chair Scott Miller requested a motion to approve the agenda. Trustee Campbell made a motion to approve the agenda, which was seconded by Trustee Matt Miller and passed unanimously.

Informational Report

Search Process and Potential Timeline – Kris reviewed the potential timeline and search process for the presidential search. She noted that the process will take a minimum of 14 weeks. There was discussion about the number of candidates who advance to the campus visit phase of the process. Kris noted that it is very common for between three and five finalist to advance to the last phase. It was discussed that the Board of Trustees will make the final decision to select the president once the finalist visit campus. It was also discussed that the Board will officially vote on the qualifications and job profile at the regular February meeting.

New Business:

Scope of Search – Chair Scott Miller discussed options for the scope of the search, which included conducting an internal and external search or limiting the search to internal candidates only. Secondly, there was discussion about utilizing the Northark Human Resources Department to coordinate and facilitate the search or hiring an outside search firm. It was discussed that search firms typically charge a minimum of $30,000 to $50,000. It was also discussed that to use a search firm, Northark would have to go through the Request for Proposal (RFP) process, which takes at least three weeks. Chair Scott Miller noted that his recommendation would be to conduct an external search—accepting both internal and external applicants—and to utilize the Northark Human Resources Department to facilitate the search. Trustee Matt Miller made a motion to conduct an external search—accepting both internal and external applicants—for the next Northark President and that the College Human Resources Department facilitate and coordinate the process. Trustee Lovell seconded the motion, which passed unanimously.

Appointment of Search Committee – Chair Scott Miller stated that in accordance with the Northark Bylaws the Board Chair may appoint committees. He encouraged all Trustees to participate on the Search Committee, but asked if there were any Trustees who did not wish to serve on the committee. He stated that Trustee Milum, who was absent, would serve on the committee. There were no Trustees who did not want to serve on the Search Committee. Chair Scott Miller discussed that he had requested nominations from several groups on campus to serve on the committee, that the Northark Foundation Board would have one representative, and that the community would have three representatives. In addition to all Board of Trustees members, Chair Miller appointed committee members including:

  • President’s Council Representative: Don Sugg, Vice President of Finance
  • Faculty Senate Representative – South: John Gripka, Social Science Instructor
  • Faculty Senate Representative – North: David Zirkle, Department Chair for Technical Programs
  • Classified Staff Association Representative – Marry Mallett, Accountant
  • Student Government Representative – Isaac Watkins, Student
  • Student Government Representative – Casey Turner, Student
  • Administrative Staff Association Representative – Sarah Bing, Student Activities Coordinator
  • Dean Representative – Dr. Laura Berry, Dean of Arts, Science, Business and Information Technology
  • Member at Large – Dr. Mendy Moss, Harrison Public School Superintendent
  • Member at Large – Vince Leist, North Arkansas Regional Medical Center President & CEO
  • Member at Large – Dr. Matt Summers, Green Forest Public School Superintendent
  • Northark Foundation Board – Cathy Brandt, retired Northark Instructor

Chair Miller stated that he had asked Trustees Adair and Evans to co‐chair the committee and that Kris Greening, HR director, Micki Somers, director of public relations & marketing, and Trish Villines, executive assistant to the president will serve as advisors to the Committee.

Board Comments:

There being no further business, Chair Scott Miller requested a motion to adjourn, which was made by Trustee Lovell, seconded by Trustee Fendley, and carried. The meeting adjourned at 1:35 p.m.


________________________                                                   Submitted By: Trish Villines

Chair Miller