July 2017 Meeting Minutes

Board of Trustees Meeting Minutes

July 13, 2017

The Northark Board of Trustees met in regular session Thursday, July 13, 2017 in the Bennie Ellis Board Room on the South Campus.  Chair Jane Adair called the meeting to order at 3 p.m. Trustees Scott Miller, David Evans, Don Tomlinson, R.G. Earnest, Kirk Campbell, and Bill Lovell and were present. Trustees Sara Jo Fendley and Chris McNew were absent.

Northark personnel attending included Dr. Randy Esters, Dr. Rodney Arnold, Tavonda Brown, Maxine O’brien, Pam Stone, Carla Jacobs, Chad Johnson, Jennifair Ditmanson, Charla Jennings, Iris Roe, Kris Greening, Micki Somers, Dr. Laura Berry, and Trish Villines.

Approval of Agenda: Chair Adair asked if there were any changes to the agenda. There being none, the agenda stood approved.

Regular Reports:

Finance Report:  Chair Adair stated that there was no finance report because it was still too early to have realistic numbers for FY1026-2017.  

President’s Report: Dr. Esters discussed the upcoming Aug. 5 tax free holiday sales in the bookstore. He reported that as of July 4, 2017, student semester credit hours for Fall 2017 were slightly above July 4, 2016, but headcount was down slightly. He reviewed Northark student winners at the National PBL competition. He discussed the fall 2017 construction technology project to build a tiny house and attendance at the Design & Construct and Robotics camps. Dr. Esters discussed Northark’s participation in the Connect 4 Berryville Tech Center, the MSSC certification program, and new equipment on the North Campus. He noted the upcoming summer movie on Aug. 5. He asked Tavonda Brown to review the policies presented for approval. He then asked former student Isaac Watkins to provide a brief presentation on Northark’s contribution to his success.

Approval of Consent Agenda: Chair Adair requested a motion to approve the Consent Agenda. The Consent Agenda included: the June Regular and Special Meeting Minutes and the Student Service Policies – Admissions; Disability Services; FERPA/Student Records; Golden Age Tuition Waiver; International Student Admission; Military Student Emergency Mobilization; Non-Discrimination & Anti-Harassment/Title IX; Student Transcript. The Consent Agenda also included the position recommendations: Trevor Gibbins and Viancie Sims for PN Faculty replacement positions; Charlotte Chea for the replacement Economics Faculty position; Dr. Michael Colon for the replacement Microbiology Faculty position; Amy Givens for a new grant funded Adult Education ESL Instructor; Rebecca Hampton for the Rad Tech Clinical Coordinator position; Reynaldo Vargas for the replacement English Faculty; Brittney Harris to replace the  grant funded CPI Advisor; and Natosha Beaver to replace the grant funded ETS Advisor.

Board Comments:

There being no further business, Chair Adair requested a motion to adjourn. Trustee Earnest made a motion, which was seconded by Trustee Miller, and passed. The meeting adjourned at 3:40 p.m.

Chair Adair                                                                                       Submitted by: Trish Villines