NACEP awards accreditation to 26 concurrent enrollment programs

Wed May 1, 2019 at 10:10 AM

The National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) Accreditation Commission granted accreditation to 26 concurrent enrollment programs at colleges and universities nationwide. This brings the total number of accredited programs across the country to 112, spanning twenty-two states.

The 2018-19 Chair of NACEP's Accreditation Commission Dr. Diana Johnson of NorthWest Arkansas Community College remarked: "I'm very pleased to recognize the North Arkansas College Concurrent Enrollment Program as one of a select group of one hundred and twelve concurrent enrollment partnerships nationwide accredited through NACEP's extensive peer-review process.  Northark has demonstrated to its peers that the college courses it offers in high schools are of the same high quality as college courses offered on campus."

As the nation’s only accrediting body for these unique and impactful educational partnerships, NACEP’s standards serve as the model criteria for ensuring parity in faculty, course content, student outcomes, and support. Receiving NACEP accreditation means an institution has met the nation’s most rigorous standard in concurrent enrollment program development, management, and evaluation across multiple, multifaceted program areas. “NACEP accreditation demonstrates a commitment to academic integrity and the delivery of an authentic college experience in the high school classroom; it is a goal that every concurrent enrollment program should aspire to and work towards,” said NACEP Executive Director, Amy Williams.

“As the availability of college credit opportunities for high school students expands, it is vital that we maintain quality to provide a meaningful collegiate experience for students. The programs that received accreditation meet established best practices in concurrent enrollment in the areas of curriculum, faculty, students, assessment, and program evaluation,” remarked Dr. Diana Johnson, NACEP Accreditation Commission Chair and Associate Vice President for Learning at NorthWest Arkansas Community College, “NACEP accreditation is the hallmark of excellence, assuring that programs offer college courses in high schools that are as rigorous as courses on their campuses, thereby supporting student achievement and postsecondary success.”

To earn accreditation from NACEP, concurrent enrollment programs conduct a self-study, document how their programs adhere to NACEP’s seventeen standards, and undergo a rigorous peer-review process conducted by a team of representatives from NACEP-accredited programs as well as the NACEP Accreditation Commission.  NACEP’s accreditation is valid for five years for initial accreditation and then seven years for reaccreditation, during which time programs are expected to uphold NACEP’s standards and report annually on program practices.

Newly Accredited Programs: 

  • Anoka Ramsey Community College (MN)
  • Edmonds Community College (WA) • Lake Superior College (MN)
  • North Hennepin Community College (MN)
  • Southeast Missouri State University (MO)
  • University of Idaho (ID) • Wenatchee Valley College (WA)

Reaccredited Programs: 

  • Central Lakes College (MN)
  • Eastern Iowa Community College (IA)
  • Hawkeye Community College (IA)
  • Hudson Valley Community College (NY)
  • Iowa Central Community College (IA)
  • Iowa Valley Community College District (IA)
  • Kirkwood Community College (IA)
  • Purdue University Fort Wayne (IN)
  • Niagara University (NY)
  • North Arkansas College (AR)
  • Northeast Iowa Community College (IA)
  • Northwest Iowa Community College (IA)
  • Southwestern Community College (IA)
  • University of Arkansas CC at Batesville (AR)
  • University of Central Arkansas (AR)
  • University of Minnesota Duluth (MN)
  • University of Minnesota Twin Cities (MN)
  • Utah Valley University (UT)
  • Vincennes University (IN)

“Ensuring program, and ultimately student success requires strong partnerships between secondary and postsecondary education centered on a mutual commitment to quality in all aspects of the program. NACEP accreditation reflects that commitment to quality across all elements of the program. These institutions have committed the necessary resources, particularly campus faculty time and effort, to support high quality concurrent enrollment.” said NACEP Executive Director, Amy Williams. Concurrent enrollment increases student’s college aspirations, engagement, and success thus concurrent enrollment programs hold tremendous potential for increasing college completion and addressing national attainment gaps. The positive benefits of dual and concurrent enrollment on college access and degree attainment were validated by the Department of Education’s What Works Clearinghouse (WWC) in a review of the experimental and quasi-experimental literature.  The full listing of the 112 NACEP accredited programs nationwide can be found at

About NACEP- The National Alliance of Concurrent Enrollment Partnerships (NACEP) is the leading membership organization supporting programs that successfully transition students from high school to college through college credit-bearing courses.  We promote quality programming through national standards, accreditation, and professional development.  Our members offer college courses to high school students through a variety of delivery methods and use a range of terms such as concurrent enrollment, dual enrollment, dual credit, and early college.  NACEP’s national network of over 475 colleges and universities, 79 high schools and school districts and 40 state agencies and system offices actively share the latest knowledge about best practices, research and advocacy.                  

North Arkansas College is committed to providing an educational and work environment for its students, faculty, and staff that is free from sexual discrimination including sexual harassment, sexual assault, and sexual violence. No form of sexual discrimination will be tolerated. See the full North Arkansas College Title IX Policy and Procedures for the specific definitions of sexual harassment and sexual violence, including examples of such conduct.