Community Education

  • fiddle <=
  • ballet <=

Subscribe To Our Mailing List      

Update Your Contact Information

Fees and Refunds

Suggest A Class or Teach A Class

Online Lifelong Learning

Liability Waiver



 

2020 Community Education Classes
  

Tap

Instructor: Kylie Thompson

Get on your feet and make some noise!  This beginner level Tap class will focus on proper instruction of how to articulate your feet and ankles as well as explore musicality, rhythm, and syncopation.

Thurs, Mar 12-Apr 30, 6:45-7:45PM, $65

Register for Tap

 

Fiddling

Instructor: Jim Christensen

In this entry-level basic instructional fiddling class participants of all ages will learn correct finger placement on the fingerboard, bowing techniques, good tone, timing, effective practicing methods, and group playing of traditional fiddle tunes. Students will need to bring a fiddle, bow, case, rosin, tuner, recording device, and music stand to class.

Thursdays, Feb 6-May 14, 4:00-5:00PM, $5

Register for Fiddling

 

Lyrical Dance

Instructor: Kylie Thompson

Lyrical dance is a fusion of ballet and jazz dance techniques.  Lyrical dance challenges choreographers and dancers to use emotion to interpret music and express emotion. It is mainly performed to music with lyrics, and the song's lyrics are a driving force and key inspiration for the movement.  Choreography is often emotional, gripping, and exquisitely delicate, all at the same time.

Thurs, Jan 23-Mar 5, 6:45-7:45PM, $65

Register for Lyrical Dance

 

Boater Education

Instructor: Wayne Cone

Anyone born on or after January 1,1986, and of legal age to operate a motorboat, must have successfully completed an approved Arkansas Game and Fish Commission Boating Education Course and carry proof while operating a motorboat on Arkansas water. The law also affects operators of sailboats. The Arkansas Boating Education Course teaches the fundamentals of safe and responsible boating. This is necessary to reduce loss of life, personal injury and property damage while increasing boating enjoyment for outdoor enthusiasts.

Sat, Mar 21, 8:00AM-5:30PM

Register for Boater Education

 

Hunter Education

Instructor: Wayne Cone

To hunt in Arkansas, prior completion of a state approved Hunter Education course is mandatory for any person with a birth date later than December 31, 1968. Youngsters (under 16 years) under the direct supervision of a licensed adult (over 21 years) do not need to have a card. This one-day class is structured to acquaint students with the many wildlife-oriented recreational opportunities and recreational shooting sports available. The program is administered through the Arkansas Game & Fish Commission and taught by trained volunteers.

Sat, Feb 22, 8:00AM-5:30PM

Register for Hunter Education

Contact UsSarah Bing
Director of Title III, Community and Concurrent Education
B205 on the 2nd floor of the JPH Building on the South Campus
(870) 391-3100
sbing@northark.edu